MSM and Fried Green Tomatoes

An awesome recipe from one of my fellow foodies!

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

I don’t recall hearing about Fried Green Tomatoes until I saw a movie in 1991 called Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistlestop Cafe. The movie, based on a 1987 book of the same name by Fannie Flag, starred two box office heavy hitters, Kathy Bates and Jessica Tandy, and two relatively newcomers, Mary Stuart Masterson (MSM) and Mary Louise Parker. I was a big fan of MSM from two of her earlier movies, Chances Are and Some Kind of Wonderful and decided to give the movie a chance. The movie was decent, but it opened up a curiosity for what this green tomato dish was.

The only green tomatoes I had heard of before were the unripe kind. I soon learned that green was just another variety grown all over the world. For a recent gourmet club, I had responsibility for appetizers and the theme was “Soul Food”. I went through a…

View original post 255 more words

Leave a Reply

