My husband actually cooked!

Image

Image

Yes people, you read the title correctly, my husband actually opened a cabinet, lifted a pan, and turned on a burner. Can you believe he had the nerve to cook the dinner. Oh the horror! Ok, I’m being sarcastic and I gotta give it to my babe he did his thing. Someone give this guy a standing ovation and reward him with as many Playstation 3 games as his can handle!

I was completely blown away after hesitating to take that first bite. I was expecting the taste of dry cardboard, partially cooked fettuccine noodles drenched with tasteless heavy cream and in fact, it was cook perfectly topped with freshly cut broccoli and succulent  shrimps. I could taste every ingredient, from the rich creamy Parmesan cheese sauce to the savory tang of shrimps lightly laced with hints of garlic butter sauce. Yes, I ate like a starving child from a third world country; slopping the residue of Alfredo sauce up with that nicely toasted garlic cheese bread you see in the picture. It was…..ummm….ummm good! 

I admit that I had to restrain myself from racing my kids to the stove and scooping up another helping. Yes, fellow food lovers, I had to whip out my portion control tazor and shock myself with mental visions of before and after pictures that allowed me to realize staying on track was well worth the dedication. Yet, temptation appeared on my left shoulder. You know, that little devil dressed in red, poking that tiny pitch fork of self-induced peer pressure into your subconscience pushing your will to the absoulte limit. You all know what I’m talking about. You’ve seen cartoons! That miniature image representing wrong from right; bending over just enough to scream in my ear, “FEED ME SYMORE!” Ok, let me stop the maddness. I am being dramatic but the reference from the classic 1986 movie, Little Shop of Horrors was on point. 😉

Reflections

The saying is true. Food taste better when you don’t have to cook it yourself. Pretty pathetic, huh? Don’t judge me! 🙂 So the real purpose of this endless rant is my deplorable way of bragging on the hubby! I am a very lucky woman and can confess that he really goes above and beyond. Just between you and I….he actually did something better than me. Shhh! Don’t tell him I said so. Its not like he needs anymore strokes to that ego.

Let’s Talk

Ok guys, I want to hear from you. How often do you surprise that special someone with a home cooked meal? Cast your votes and voice your opinion! Us ladies wanna know!

Leave a Reply

